top of page

Dolce la morte

A monodrama for chamber ensemble and countertenor, composed by Suzanne Farrin, 2016

"Dolce la morte ​is an opera for counter tenor and ensemble (oboe, bassoon, harp, violin, viola, cello, double bass) based on the love poetry of Michelangelo. It was commissioned by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City in April 2016 and has since been performed at the Crested Butte Festival in Colorado and again at the MET in 2017."

Suzanne Farrin, composer
Eric Jurenas, countertenor
International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)
David Fulmer, conductor
Doug Fitch, staging

Kivie Cahn-Lipman, cello and lirone
Monica Duncan, projections
Rebekah Heller, bassoon
Nicholas Houfek, lighting designer
Wendy Richman, viola
James Austin Smith, oboe
Ari Streisfeld, violin
Nuiko Wadden, harp
Randy Zigler, bass

**Images by Doug Fitch from the December 7th and 9th, 2017 performances at the MET, Vélez Blanco Patio.

bottom of page